A Bloggers’ Problem: Stats Addiction

file000349823764

I‭’‬ve been blogging for about one month so far and a few days ago I have noticed that‭ ‬I am‭ ‬addicted to my blog stats page.‭ ‬After leaving the social media I thought that I had done an important‭ ‬step in my‭ ‬battle against any form of addiction,‭ ‬but now I have to admit that I haven‭’‬t but started my journey.‭

Every time a new visitors hits my blog it gives me a little pleasure and so I keep checking my stats every few minutes,‭ ‬craving for comments,‭ ‬likes and followers.‭ ‬I am‭ ‬sure I am not the first blogger who faces this problem and therefore I have decided to share with you my thoughts about this‭ ‬phenomenon.‭

First of all I‭’‬d like to say that any blog lives thanks to its readers,‭ ‬a blog with no readers has no reason to exist:‭ ‬if I hadn‭’‬t had any visitor till now I would have already given up‭ ‬shakeclouds,‭ ‬that‭’‬s sure.‭ ‬From this point of view checking your‭ ‬stats can be a good thing:‭ ‬as you see that the number of visitors increases you get a great boost of motivation,‭ ‬as‭ ‬you‭ ‬realise that many people will probably read your articles you‭ ‬understand that your duty is to‭ ‬reward them‭ ‬with‭ ‬the best content possible.‭

On the other hand if this addiction becomes too strong one might forget that the real goal of every blogger is to share a message,‭ ‬to spread around the world his own thoughts.‭ ‬When you forget that your goal is to provide good quality content and instead you only‭ ‬think about ways to get more visitors you stop being a blogger,‭ ‬you become a spammer.

Why it is so harmful

I am sure that the stats addiction is commonly spread among bloggers:‭ ‬any of us wants to reach the top and as a consequence we keep checking whether the number of visitors increases or not.‭ ‬The problem anyway is that by checking our stats we get absolutely nothing and that’s why every‭ ‬blogger should try to fight against this addiction with all his strengths.‭ ‬Being addicted to your blog‭’‬s stats is highly harmful,‭ ‬let‭’‬s see some of the consequences of this problem:

  • Loss of time:‭ ‬as you keep checking your stats time flies:‭ ‬you keep pushing the refresh button and you forget that your time is worth using in better ways.‭ ‬By the time you get one visitor you might have written‭ ‬200‭ ‬or more words.‭ ‬What about creating valuable content instead of wasting your days waiting for visitors‭?;
  • Loss of Creativity:‭ ‬when you are craving for traffic you can‭’‬t think about anything but ways to increase the number of visitors.‭ ‬Your mind is totally focused on the single goal of‭ ‬having the little pleasure given by a comment or‭ ‬a‭ ‬like.‭ ‬In this state of mind you will hardly come up with any ideas for your new article or post,‭ ‬if you want to be more creative try to be thankful for the readers you already have and‭ ‬to‭ ‬understand what they really appreciate about your‭ ‬work‭;
  • Loss of long-term perspective:‭ ‬the present moment is everything,‭ ‬but at the same time you shouldn‭’‬t forget your long-term goals.‭ ‬If you want to build a strong community around your blog you need to provide your readers valuable content and publish regularly new‭ ‬articles.‭ ‬If you start using any possible strategy to get more visitors but you haven‭’‬t already the great content they are looking for you simply lose your time.‭ ‬You should always remember this golden rule:‭ ‬content‭ ‬comes‭ ‬first‭!‬ If your blog is already full of great content but you haven‭’‬t the audience you expected to have maybe you should be more patient or ask for some‭ ‬suggestion‭;
  • Misinterpretation of the blogger’s goal:‭ ‬as a blogger your primary aim should be to add content to your website,‭ ‬to‭ ‬help people solve their problems and to share your knowledge with others.‭ ‬If you change your mind and decide that all you want from your blog is traffic you are no longer a blogger.‭ W‬hen you forget that your purpose is to give and not to receive, people will notice it and the number of your visitors will drop even more‭;
  • Loss of motivation:‭ ‬when you decided to start your blog you did so because you felt a compulsive desire to share a message,‭ ‬you thought you had something to give,‭ ‬that many could have appreciated your work.‭ ‬As you shift your attention from the writing practice to the‭ “‬traffic tricks‭”‬ you leave aside your writer self,‭ ‬you are no longer doing what you love doing and therefore you will lose the required motivation to keep publishing new content.‭ ‬When‭ ‬you‭ ‬forget the reasons‭ ‬that made you start the‭ ‬project,‭ ‬you will give it up.‭ ‬If you want to keep writing try to bother less about the visitors and focus on your writing skills,‭ ‬readers will come with time.

How I decided to tackle this problem

As soon as I noticed this problem I decided that‭ ‬I had to do something:‭ ‬I couldn‭’‬t accept‭ ‬to waste my time‭ ‬in such a way.‭ ‬I tried not to check the stats page but it was impossible,‭ ‬I was so addicted that I couldn‭’‬t think about anything but to go‭ ‬there and press the refresh button.‭ ‬It was‭ ‬like I couldn‭’‬t write a single word without being sure that someone‭ ‬had visited my blog,‭ ‬all I wanted was the little pleasure given by one‭ ‬visitor.‭

As I realised that I‭ ‬wasn‭’‬t‭ ‬able to face the problem all together I resolved that all I could do was to tackle it step by step.‭ ‬As a first‭ ‬step‭ ‬I became aware that my mind was‭ ‬continuously thinking about the stats,‭ ‬that even when I was writing a post I kept opening my browser to see if there was‭ ‬a new visitor,‭ ‬that this unbridled desire was driving me crazy.‭

Then I resolved to check the stats every hour,‭ ‬in order to build some resistance.‭ ‬As‭ ‬I understood that I could live‭ ‬one‭ ‬hour without checking the stats‭ ‬I felt a lot better and I‭ ‬decided to push further:‭ ‬right now I don‭’‬t check the stats before I write at least‭ ‬250‭ ‬words which I think is‭ ‬already‭ ‬a good result.‭

Since this strategy is working very well for me I am planning to do even better in the future:‭ ‬my goal is to check the stats only once a day within‭ ‬2‭ ‬months.‭

If you want to be a great blogger‭ ‬please‭ ‬follow this suggestion: close‭ ‬your stats window and start writing‭ ‬something worth reading‭!

13 thoughts on “A Bloggers’ Problem: Stats Addiction

  1. Lovely post and I am sure every blogger, more so the newbies, are addicted to the stats. I got to that stage at some point as well but am realising that stats really do not matter. It does however give me an indication of what my readers like to read though.

    Like

    1. Hello Miss C, it’s always nice to have a comment from you! Of course you are right: the stats addiction is more common among newbies… once you understand that you love blogging the stats factor loses importance!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Great post! Blog stats addiction is something I struggle with too. Thanks for the reminder 🙂 Just got to keep writing, creating, enjoying.

    Like

  3. I have the same problem. I was addicted to checking stats even a few weeks ago but I slowed down a bit now. I basically close the browser altogether and put blogging at the very back of my mind, not even think about it and occupy my mind with something like reading a book or leave the computer and go somewhere else. It seemed to work but still I have the urge to just give a quick peek every few hours or so. Good luck battling that addiction. 🙂

    Like

  4. I have the same problem when I first blogging 🙂 I think it’s good that you realized that it’s a problem and tried to resolve it. After a while, stats is just stats. And it all comes down to if you enjoy the blogging or not. Others is just secondary.

    Like

  5. If I write a blog say twice a week, I’ll probably check once or twice a week to see whether my blogs did find any readers. It is also interesting to see whether some blogs from further back found a few more readers.

    I like reading comments people make about subjects that are of special interest to me. I try to respond to comments to my blogs but I also like to comment to other people’s blogs. Usually I like to read blogs that lead to inspiring conversations.

    I noticed when I publish two or more blogs within a day or two, most people tend to read only the blog that was published last. I accept that not all my followers read everything I write. Some things I do write about may not interest all my followers. Also the things I reblog may interest only a few people or nobody at all. But this does not mean that I want to stop publishing the things that have some kind of meaning for me. Maybe one or two people are the only ones who show an interest. This is all right too. It always pleases me when I can talk with somebody about what I have published.

    Like

    1. Hello Aunty Uta! thank you very much for your comment!

      you are completely right.. it’s always a pleasure to share our ideas and discuss about the topic we have written about in the comment section 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

