Stop doing, Start thinking

file2561344746867

I believe that we put too much pressure in our days. We judge thinks for their outcome, while neglecting the process. What we do is satisfying only when we reach a result, when we are able to provide some evidence of our work, when people can “see” what we have done.

But does is make sense?

Look around you. What do you see?

We are a society of “doers”. Everyone is always ready to claim his successes. Every time you meet someone you haven’t seen for a long time you start by stating all you have done, all your achievements. If it happens to you to listen to a random conversation it would be most likely be full of “I have done this and that”, “tomorrow I will do that”, “next year I will be able to do”.

Doesn’t it look a bit crazy?

Does it really make sense to completely resolve our existences around the things we have done, the things we are doing and the ones we are going to do?

Nowadays the most important thing is to do more, to do it fast and to move forward. Reading the most popular personal development blogs it is not unusual to find posts describing detailed methods to improve your productivity, to help you to get the more things done. And this posts are always the most viewed.

I have tried some of these “magic” techniques and I must admit that in a certain degree they work: doing some to-do lists and prioritizing your activities are great ways to better organize our time and they are most useful since they help us to avoid constant distractions like social media, web surfing and more simple, but purposeless activities.

On the other hand I have also reflect upon this idea of doing more, of getting more done. What I have resolved is that what I value the most is embracing those things which are aligned with my purposes, that no matter how many things I am able to complete I feel no satisfaction if all I have done makes no sense to me. When you go to bed after a hard day of work you feel no satisfaction if you have done 100 meaningless things. You can tell to yourself that you have done plenty of things, but you won’t feel any sense of accomplishment. Conversely, even doing a single, but important thing, will give a deep meaning to your time.

I suggest you to give up the “doer” attitude, and to become a “thinker”.

Doers just do, they just care about facts and results. Thinkers invest most of their time investigating, looking for the right things to do, understanding what they really want.

What if you go through your life with the “doer” attitude and then you find out that all you have done makes no sense to you? Wouldn’t it be better to devote part of your time to think, to reflect upon life and then to start acting in order to achieve what you believe is the best for you?

Think of a company. Managers are “doers”, they organize things, they plan every day so that to get things done. Leaders are “thinkers”, they decide toward which direction the company should move, they study the market and define which strategy should be undertaken.

Do you think that a company without leaders would last long? What about a person without a thinker attitude? Do you think that doing things without thinking, without a clear idea of where you are going, will ever lead you somewhere?

Your opinion

What do you think about this post? Have you ever fallen in the doer attitude? What do you think we can do to get rid of this attitude? Please let me know in the comments below!

If you liked this post and want to get more articles talking about similar topics please subscribe to shakeclouds (I will send every new article directly to your inbox and you are free unsubscribe whenever you want).

18 thoughts on “Stop doing, Start thinking

  1. This is a very good post. I used to be a ‘doer’ and have recently started to reflect on everything I have accomplished and they really don’t seem to mean anything to me. The most important thing I have done lately is starting my blog. I love writing and expressing myself and have decided to focus on that. You were actually the first person to comment on my blog and that makes me feel good, so thanks! πŸ˜€

    Like

  2. Our planet would be a far more better place if we all spent some time thinking. I totally believe we can combine them and take everything to a whole other level, Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. thanks for the great read. I loved it. I was once a big “doer”. Actually, there was a time when all I could do was obsess over what I should/shouldn’t do & how to do it, whatever it may be. But, I look back now and see that my life consisted of doing things to make people see me in a certain way, as a certain person. Categorized. Everyday I try to just stop, dismiss all the caous, and live in the present moment. It feels a lot better at the end of the day to know I’ve made myself happy, and for all the right reasons..

    Like

  4. What a great post! I think about this so often, how people are like robots or machines just going about their day doing things because it “needs” to be done. Oftentimes they’re doing it for the good of someone else too. But where is their own happiness in that? It is so important, like you say, to think and reflect; think about your situation, see what you really want and strive for that. One should never forget that doing something you want to do is so much more important than just doing something for the sake of doing. That said, sometimes a lot needs to be done for your dreams to come true – but too many people rush through life instead of enjoying the journey as well.
    Looking forward to reading some more of your work! πŸ™‚

    Like

  5. Hey, I used to be a “doer” too but I slowed down over the last few years. I stopped the “doing” after my child was born and I have started to enjoy the present moments with my baby. I now focus on being, rather than doing. This also helps me to go with the flow and to trust the life.
    I like your post because it asks some interesting questions and everybody should stop and think about the answers to them πŸ™‚ Keep writing! πŸ™‚

    Like

    1. Hello Martina! It’s very hard to shift from the doer to the thinker attitude.. I’m only doing the first steps πŸ™‚ I’m so glad you liked the post and you managed to find a way to fully enjoy our life!

      Like

  6. I find this quite funny, because in one of my posts, I told people to stop looking and start doing. What you have written is quite true though, I am of course, what one calls a “doer”, but your post got me thinking.

    Like

Leave a Reply

